Foligno, in the center of the Umbrian Valley, is one of the rare historic centers built in level ground. As attested by inscriptions and religious traditions, the territory of Foligno was inhabited by people of Umbria. The etymology of the name would be connected to the sacral origin, with reference to the existence of the cult of the goddess Fulginia. Once inhabited by the people of Umbria, it was later occupied by the Romans with the construction of the Via Flaminia.

Strategic crossroads, today is one of the most populous towns of the region and important art city that preserves one of the few examples of fifteenth-century painting made of a noble palace, Palazzo Trinci, frescoed by Gentile da Fabriano. Inside the palace are located the Art Gallery, the Archaeological Museum, the Municipal Museum Institution, the Multimedia Museum of Tournaments and roundabouts. To visit the Cathedral of San Feliciano, dedicated to the patron saint of the city dates back to 1333, the San Domenico church, the church of Santa Maria di Betlem, St. Paul's Church and the Abbey of Santa Croce in Sassovivo, one of the greatest and fascinating monuments in the territory of Foligno, nestled in an idyllic natural landscape, through forests of oaks and olive trees.


Unmisseble appointment is Giostra della Quintana that has two annual editions, the Tournament of Challenge and that the Rematch (respectively in June, at night, and in September, daytime).